Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

MATHCOUNTS team, individual winners named

Honored at awards banquet

March 2, 2017
The Town Crier

The following team and individual winners of the 2017 MATHCOUNTS Competition Feb. 9 at Youngstown State University were honored at an awards banquet Monday at A La Cart Catering in Canfield.

The guest speaker was Jim Kinnick, P.E., executive director of Eastgate Regional Council of Governments.

MATHCOUNTS is a nationwide math competition for sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade students sponsored by the National Society of Professional Engineers. It is designed to address the problem of declining math skills among U.S. students.

Sponsors of the program target middle school students who are at a crucial stage in developing and sustaining interest and ability in mathematics. The local competition for schools in Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties is sponsored by the Mahoning Valley Society of Professional Engineers and YSU's College of STEM.

This year, major funding was provided by Dominion East Ohio and Vallourec Star.

The following are this year's award winners:

Top six teams:

The top three teams (marked with an asterisk*) advance to the state contest March 11 in Columbus. In addition to the top two teams, the top six individuals not on one of the top three teams also advance to the state contest.

1.* Canfield Village Middle School

Coach Shelly Dwyer and team members Ben Martin, Emily Mashqbeh, Aaron Ferguson and Hayden Nottingham.

2.* Howland Middle School (Math Bowl Champions)

Coach Von Rae Williams and team members Gabriel Altawil, Kate Li, Jacob Snelson and Tyler Miller.

3.* Poland Middle School

Coaches Janice Hohloch and Bruce Daley and team members Tony Gallo, Ethan McKenzie, Will Davies and Sam James.

4.Boardman Glenwood Junior High School

Coach Jeana Carpenter and team members Teddy Anzevino, Haley Beish, Yara Habo and Jason Lagese.

5.Lisbon David Anderson

Coach Ashley Wallace and team members Madelyn Wells, Rowan Toalston, Megan Chludzinski, and Taylor DeLand.

6.Crestview Middle School

Coach Herman Miller and team members Molly Emch, Madison Borchardt, Kamden Miller and Jamie Hoffer.

The top six individuals not on one of the top three teams advancing to the state competition include:

1. Cameron Burke of St. Charles School

2. Jackie Grisdale of Poland Middle School

3. Abby Schindell of Hubbard Middle School

4. Jason Lagese of Boardman Glenwood Junior High School

5. Evan Smith of East Palestine Middle School

6. Aiden Stec of Poland Middle School

The top six MATHCOUNTS individual winners:

1. Cameron Burke of St. Charles School

2. Ben Martin of Canfield Village Middle School

3. Tyler Miller of Howland Middle School

4. Aaron Ferguson of Canfield Village Middle School

5. Will Davies of Poland Middle School

6. Jackie Grisdale of Poland Middle School

Most improved school:

Canfield Village Middle School, coach Shelly Dwyer

Countown Round winners:

(Countdown Round is a single elimination tournament among the top 16 individual Mathletes)

1. Kate Li of Howland Middle School

2. Tony Gallo of Poland Middle School

3. Aaron Ferguson of Canfield Village Middle School

4. Sam James of Poland Middle School

The winners of the state competition held March 11 in Columbus will advance to the National MATHCOUNTS Championship May 14-15 in Orlando.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web