Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Annual Scouting breakfast set

Fundraiser recognizes program’s success

April 13, 2017
The Town Crier

The Whispering Pines District of the Great Trail Council of Boy Scouts of America will host its 12th annual Celebration of Scouting breakfast fundraiser April 25 at Holiday Inn, Boardman.

The event will recognize the impact of the Scouting program in providing leadership skills training to youth and how it prepares them for success in their future.

This year's speakers will be Greg Smith, chairman of the Board of Compco Industries and founder of Diamond Management Systems; Artemus Scissum, principal of Martin Luther King Elementary School in Youngstown; and Victor Di Tommaso, a Life Scout in Boy Scout Troop 2 chartered to Poland United Methodist Church and a junior at Poland Seminary High School. Serving as master of ceremonies will be Mark Luke.

The Whispering Pines District of the Great Trail Boy Scout Council serves families in Mahoning County and Hubbard, with more than 1,000 youth involved supported by more than 600 adult volunteers.

Great Trail Council serves more than 13,000 Scouts in Summit, Portage, Medina, Mahoning, Trumbull and Northern Wayne counties. Scoutreach is the BSA's commitment to making sure that all young people have an opportunity to join Scouting, regardless of their circumstances, neighborhood or ethnic background.

Scoutreach is Cub Scouts and Boy Scouts locally in community settings such as the Youngstown City School System and the Mahoning County Juvenile Justice Center.

Doors open 7 a.m., and breakfast will be served between 7:30 and 8 a.m. Reservations are required by April 7 and can made by calling John Brkic at 330-773-0415, Ext. 230, or

Those interested in making an investment in Scouting and cannot attend the event, donations can be made by making a check payable to Great Trail Council-BSA and send to: Great Trail Council-BSA, Attn: WP FOS Breakfast, 3712 Leffingwell Road, Canfield, OH 44406.

Brkic, Whispering Pines district executive, is chairperson for this year's event. Breakfast Committee members include John Barkett, Katie Burkey, Albin Dearing, Stephen Halloran, Kurt Hilderbrand, Mike Kupec, Laura Kupec, Mark Luke, Bill Moss, John Russell and John Yerian.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web