Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Canfield's 10th "Top 10" finish at State Competition

March 18, 2020
The Town Crier

The Canfield Speech & Debate Team competed at the Ohio Speech & Debate Association's State Tournament, hosted by Wooster City Schools, on March 6-7, 2020, with 1107 students representing 90 teams. At the conclusion of the competition, Canfield finished in eigth place. This is Canfield's 10th "Top 10" finish at the State Tournament in the past 12 years.

Top 10 Teams at OSDA State Finals:

First Place - Massillon Perry

Article Photos

Students advancing to elimination rounds at the state tournament on March 6-7 include, in front row: Moe Prather, Ashton Gingerich, Kaleigh Ceci, Vincent Machuga, Tatiana Caballero, and Abigail Ambrose. In center row are: Sydney Kinkade, Marina Campos, Audra Pesko, Bridget Fekety, and Madison Zets. In back row are: Brian Krcelic, Robert Faix, and Prabh Dhaliwal.

Second Place - Hawken School

Third Place - Solon

Fourth Place - Massillon Jackson

Fifth Place - Mason

Sixth Place - Chagrin Falls

Seventh Place - Wooster

Eighth Place - Canfield

Ninth Place - Highland

10th Place - Stow

Students advancing to elimination rounds:

Kaleigh Ceci - Fourth Place in Humor

Ashton Gingerich - Top 12 in Humor

Vincent Machuga - Top 12 in Original Oratory

Sydney Kinkade - Top 12 in United States Extemp

Marina Campos and Audra Pesko - Top 23 in Public Forum Debate

Abigail Ambrose - Top 24 in Declamation

Bridget Fekety - Top 24 in Informative

Moe Prather - Top 24 in Informative

Tatiana Caballero - Top 24 in Original Oratory

Robert Faix - Top 48 in Congressional Debate

Prabh Dhaliwal - Top 48 in Congressional Debate

Madison Zets - Top 96 in Congressional Debate

Brian Krcelic - Top 96 in Congressional Debate

Congratulations went out to the 39 students who qualified for the State Tournament:

In Congressional Debate: Robert Faix (Top 48), Prabh Dhaliwal (Top 48), Madison Zets (Top 96), and Brian Krcelic (Top 96).

In Declamation: Abigail Ambrose (Top 24), Ayusha Thapa, Julia Mosher, and Gabriella Smallwood.

In Drama: Alex Crans, and Samantha Lutton.

In Humor: Kaleigh Ceci (4th Place), Ashton Gingerich (Top 12), and Nicole DeFabio.

In Informative Speaking: Bridget Fekety (Top 24), Moe Prather (Top 24), Nicholas Krcelic, and Abigail Faix.

In Lincoln-Douglas Debate: Hannah Kelly, and Emily Mashqbeh.

In Original Oratory: Vincent Machuga (Top 12), Tatiana Caballero (Top 24), Grace Li, and Olivia Love.

In Program Oral Interpretation: Delaney Pallo, Briana Haddon, and Giovanna Cestone.

In Public Forum Debate: Marina Campos and Audra Pesko (Top 23), Anthony Biondillo and Angelo Cestone, Anna Kan and Maggie Carrier, and Asheligh Haas and Aidyn Simons.

In United States Extemp: Sydney Kinkade (Top 12), Josh Farley, Christopher Altiere, and Grace Min.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web